Past Arison Awardees

The Arison Award is named for the late visionary, entrepreneur and philanthropist Ted Arison, founder of Carnival Cruise Lines, who sought a comprehensive method to nurture and support young artists in America. In 1981, together with his wife, Lin, Ted founded National YoungArts Foundation (then called the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts (NFAA)). Since then, more than 20,000 alumni have been awarded through the organization’s annual competition. The Arison Award, established in 2001, is given annually to an individual (or individuals) who, like the Arison family, has had a considerable influence on the development of young American artists. The award itself is a work of art created by New York City artist Jean Shin, 1990 Winner in Visual Arts & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts.

2019: Simon and Nikolai Haas of The Haas Brothers, designers; and Camille A Browne*1997 YoungArts Winner in Dance & U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts, dancer and choreographer.

2018: Tarell Alvin McCraney*, 1999 Winner in Theater, playwright.

2017: Jason Moran*, 1993 Winner in Jazz, jazz pianist; and Jessica Lang, choreographer.

2016: Rosie Perez, director and actress; and Robert Wilson, director; Tony Yazbeck*, 1997 YoungArts Winner in Theater, performer, Tony Award nominee and YoungArts Master Teacher.

2015: Jeff Koons, renowned visual artist; Josh Groban*1999 YoungArts Winner in Theater, Grammy Award-nominated recording artist, singer, songwriter, actor, YoungArts Master Teacher; and Chris Young*, 2003 YoungArts Winner in Voice and U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts, Grammy and Country Music Association Award nominated singer-songwriter.

2014: Zaha Hadid, Pritzker Award Winning architect; Rita Moreno, Academy Award Winning singer, dancer and actress; and Andrew Rannells*, 1997 Winner in Theater, American actor and singer.

2013: Joshua Bell, one of the world’s most celebrated violinists; Debbie Allen, American actress, dancer, choreographer, television director, television producer and a member of the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities; and Adrian Grenier*, 1994 Winner in Theater, American actor, musician and director. 

2012: Robert Redford, actor, director, activist, and founder of the Sundance Institute & Film Festival; and Robert L. Lynch, president and CEO of Americans for the Arts; and Doug Aitken*, 1986 Winner in Visual Arts, American multi-media artist.

2011: Bill T. Jones, a multi-talented artist, choreographer, dancer, theater director and writer; Michael Kaiser, President, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, and Adrienne Arsht, Philanthropist; and Kerry Washington*, 1994 Winner in Theater, American actress.

2010: Liv Ullmann, Norwegian actress and director; Alberto Ibargüen, President and CEO of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; and Desmond Richardson*, 1986 Winner in Dance and U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts, American dancer and co-founder and co-artistic director of Complexions Contemporary Ballet.

2009: James Rosenquist, an International award-winning, world-renowned artist; and Raúl Esparza*, 1988 YoungArts Winner in Theater, award-winning Broadway, television and film actor.

2008: Frank Gehry, world renowned architect; and Rachel Moore*, 1982 YoungArts Winner in Dance, Executive Director of the American Ballet Theatre and former member of ABT’s Corps de Ballet.

2007: Dave Brubeck, American jazz pianist and composer; and Allegra Goodman*, 1985 YoungArts Winner in Writing and U.S. Presidential Scholar in the Arts, critically-acclaimed novelist and short story writer.

2006: Michael Tilson Thomas, renowned musician and conductor; and Vanessa Williams*, 1981 YoungArts Winner in Musical and Spoken Theater, internationally renowned Grammy and Emmy nominated singer/actress. 

2005: Mikhail Baryshnikov, celebrated dancer, choreographer and actor. 

2003: Roberta Guaspari, inspirational violin and strings teacher in the New York City public school system.

2002: Jacques d’Amboise, one of the finest classical dancers of our time.

2001: Quincy Jones, American record producer, conductor, arranger, composer, television producer, film producer, instrumentalist, magazine founder, record company executive, humanitarian and jazz trumpeter.

*The Arison Alumni Award, which was established in 2006 to celebrate the organization’s 25th anniversary, is granted to past YoungArts winners in recognition of noteworthy contributions and professional achievements in his/her chosen art form.